Kakaw

Last weekend I had the absolute honour of playing in the first ever Granite City Fight Hawks game!
I got to skate alongside skaters I had mentored through freshmeat. Going from Bambi to bouting.
I felt like a proud mother hen!
I adore mentoring fresh meat. Our girls have a fantastic attitude and just give it their all. Other fresh meats may be the same, they probably are, there’s a lot of good people in the derbyverse, I just only have first hand knowledge of ours. I remember seeing skaters struggle to even stand and in what seems like weeks, what often is weeks, they’re casually derby stopping and doing apex jumps like it’s no big deal.
IT IS A BIG DEAL!!!
I take precisely zero credit for these skaters being amazing.  That is wholey down to a combination of our excellent fresh meat program and their sheer hardwork and determination.

image

True fact; when regaling the townspeople of our maiden game (i.e. boring people at work, telling boyfriend over and over), I often had tears in my eyes.
There were points on track where I was practically applauding my own team on their mad skills. ‘Yeah you do that offence!’
I don’t have small humans of my own but I imagine that this must be similar to watching your kid go from falling on their face on sports day in playgroup to casually winning gold in the Olympics. Am I exaggerating? Possibly. Possibly not.

Leave a Reply

